Jump label

Service navigation

Main navigation

You are here:

Main content

Gamma-Ray Astronomy


Large Size Telescope

Gamma-Ray Astronomy

In Dortmund, we focus on ground-based gamma-ray astronomy using Imaging Atmospheric Cherenkov Telescopes. These telescopes are sensitive to the only nanoseconds long and very faint pulses of Cherenkov light produced by extensive air showers in the atmosphere.

Using the Cherenkov light, these telescopes are able to measure gamma rays in the energy regime from as low as 30 GeV to several hundred TeV.

Using high-energy gamma radiation offers a unique view into the universe. Only the most extreme objects, like supernova remnants in our own Milkyway and supermassive black holes in the centers of other galaxies are sources of gamma radiation at TeV energies.

Focus in Dortmund

We focus on improving the sensitivity of these instruments, by developing new, machine-learning based analysis methods (link zu machine learning), improving the extensive simulations that are necessary for these instruments (link zu simulationen), and solving the inverse problems that arise in estimating the spectral energy distributions of cosmic gamma-ray source (link to inverse problems).

Bringing all this together, we also are part of the open gamma-ray astronomy effort, developing common data formats and analysis tools.

Experiments

Our group is part of three international collaborations in Cherenkov Astronomy. MAGIC is an array of two 17m telescopes at the Roque de los Muchachos Observatory on La Palma, Spain and one of the most sensitive currently observing Cherenkov telescopes. FACT is a smaller, 4m diameter Telescope right next to MAGIC build to show the feasiblity of modern Silicon Photomultipliers in Cherenkov astronomy and for continous monitoring of bright active galactic nuclei. CTA will be the next generation and the most sensitive telescope array ever build. Currently in the planning and construction phase, work here is mainly focused on simulation and the analysis software.

Sprungmarken

Servicenavigation

Hauptnavigation

Sie sind hier:

Hauptinhalt

Gammaastronomie


Large Size Telescope

Gammaastronomie

In Dortmund konzentrieren wir uns auf die bodengebundene Gammaastronomie mit bildgebenden atmosphärischen Cherenkov-Teleskopen. Diese Teleskope reagieren empfindlich auf die nur wenige Nanosekunden langen und sehr schwachen Lichtpulse von Cherenkov-Licht, die von ausgedehnten Luftschauern in der Atmosphäre erzeugt werden.

Mit dem Cherenkov-Licht sind diese Teleskope in der Lage, Gammastrahlen im Energiebereich von nur 30 GeV bis zu mehreren hundert TeV zu messen.

Die Verwendung hochenergetischer Gammastrahlung bietet einen einzigartigen Blick in das Universum. Nur die extremsten Objekte, wie Supernova-Reste in unserer eigenen Milchstraße und supermassive Schwarze Löcher in den Zentren anderer Galaxien, sind Quellen der Gammastrahlung bei TeV-Energien.

Schwerpunkt in Dortmund

Wir konzentrieren uns darauf, die Empfindlichkeit dieser Instrumente zu verbessern, indem wir neue, maschinenlernorientierte Analysemethoden entwickeln, die für diese Instrumente notwendigen umfangreichen Simulationen verbessern und die inversen Probleme lösen, die bei der Schätzung der spektralen Energieverteilung der kosmischen Gammastrahlenquelle auftreten.

Um dies alles zusammenzufassen, sind wir auch Teil der offenen Gammastrahlenastronomie und entwickeln gemeinsame Datenformate und Analysetools.

Experimente

Unsere Gruppe ist Mitglied in drei internationalen Kooperationen in der Cherenkov-Astronomie. MAGIC ist ein Array von zwei 17m-Teleskopen am Roque de los Muchachos Observatorium auf La Palma, Spanien und eines der empfindlichsten derzeit beobachtenden Cherenkov-Teleskope. FACT ist ein kleineres Teleskop mit 4m Durchmesser direkt neben MAGIC, das die Machbarkeit moderner Silizium-Photomultiplikatoren in der Cherenkov-Astronomie und zur kontinuierlichen Überwachung hell aktiver galaktischer Kerne demonstriert. CTA wird die nächste Generation und die empfindlichste Teleskopanordnung sein, die je gebaut wurde. Derzeit in der Planungs- und Bauphase konzentriert sich die Arbeit hier vor allem auf die Simulation und die Analysesoftware.