Jump label

Service navigation

Main navigation

You are here:

Sub navigation

  • Experimental Physics 5b+

Main content

Experimental Physics 5b

Under reconstruction

These sites are currently under reconstruction.

Please be patient.


Welcome to the website of Astroparticle Physics Groups at TU Dortmund! The focus of our research interests is the field of multi-messenger and astroparticle physics. To study the thin rain of particles and waves arriving at Earth from the Cosmos, we develop and use modern detectors, advanced simulation and analysis methods, including machine learning. We aim at advancing computer science methods with the goal of identifying and characterising Cosmic accelerators and other high-energy phenomena.


Neutrino Astronomy


Neutrinos

Neutrino Astronomy aims at opening a new observational window, by detecting high energy neutrinos of astrophysical origin. The astroparticle physiscs group at TU Dortmund University is a member of the IceCube Collaboration and will also participate in the proposed upgrades of the detector.

Gamma Astronomy


Gamma

Using high-energy gamma radiation offers a unique view into the universe. Only the most extreme objects, like supernova remnants in our own Milkyway and supermassive black holes in the centers of other galaxies are sources of gamma radiation at TeV energies. Our main focus is on developing new, machine-learning based analysis methods, improving the simulations, real-time analysis and providing open and reproducible results.

Radio Astronomy


Radio Antennas

Radio astronomy provides information about astrophysical sources in the low-energy range of the electromagnetic spectrum. In Dortmund, we analyze data from the Very Long Baseline Array (VLBA) and the Low-Frequency Array (LOFAR) to learn more about the morphologies and acceleration mechanisms of cosmic accelerators such as active galactic nuclei.

Particle Interaction & Propagation


Propagation

A precise understanding of the interaction processes and a performant simulation of the particle propagation are necessary to do significant measurements. In Dortmund, the Monte-Carlo simulation tools CORSIKA and PROPOSAL simulating extended air showers from cosmic rays and neutrino induced charged leptons are further developed.

Method Development


Invers

For precise physics measurements the development of novel analysis techniques and concepts is as important as the development of new detection mechanisms. Method development at E5b largely focuses on machine learning and pattern recognition and extends beyond the application of novel tools. The areas of research include signal-background-separation with machine learning techniques, the development of DNN-based reconstruction algorithms and solving inverse problems.



Sub content

Contact

Experimental Physics Vb

Otto-Hahn-Str. 4a
44227 Dortmund
(Anfahrtsbeschreibung)

Tel.: (+49) 231 755-3539
Fax: (+49) 231 755-4547

Sprungmarken

Servicenavigation

Hauptnavigation

Sie sind hier:

Bereichsnavigation

Hauptinhalt

Experimentelle Physik 5b

Under reconstruction

Diese Seiten werden momentan überarbeitet.

Bitte haben Sie Geduld.


Willkommen auf der Website der Astroteilchenphysik-Gruppen der TU Dortmund! Der Schwerpunkt unserer Forschungsinteressen liegt auf dem Gebiet der Multi-Messenger- und Astroteilchenphysik. Um den dünnen Regen von Partikeln und Wellen, die aus dem Kosmos auf die Erde gelangen, zu untersuchen, entwickeln und verwenden wir moderne Detektoren, fortschrittliche Simulations- und Analysemethoden, einschließlich maschinellen Lernens. Unser Ziel ist es, die Methoden der Informatik mit dem Ziel voranzutreiben, kosmische Beschleuniger und andere Hochenergiephänomene zu identifizieren und zu charakterisieren.


Neutrinoastronomie


Neutrinos

Die Neutrinoastronomie zielt darauf ab, ein neues Beobachtungsfenster zu öffnen, indem sie hochenergetische Neutrinos astrophysikalischen Ursprungs erkennt. Die Astroteilchenphysik-Gruppe an der TU Dortmund ist Mitglied der IceCube Collaboration und wird sich auch an den vorgeschlagenen Upgrades des Detektors beteiligen.

Gammaastronomie


Gamma

Hochenergetischer Gammastrahlung bietet einen einzigartigen Blick in das Universum. Nur die extremsten Objekte, wie Supernova-Reste in unserer eigenen Milchstraße und supermassive Schwarze Löcher in den Zentren anderer Galaxien, sind Quellen der Gammastrahlung bei TeV-Energien. Unser Schwerpunkt liegt auf der Entwicklung neuerAnalysemethoden maschinellen Lernens, der Verbesserung der Simulationen, der Echtzeitanalyse und der Bereitstellung transparenter und reproduzierbarer Ergebnisse.

Radioastronomie


Radio Antennen

Die Radioastronomie liefert Informationen über astrophysikalische Quellen im niederenergetischen Bereich des elektromagnetischen Spektrums. In Dortmund analysieren wir Daten aus dem Very Long Baseline Array (VLBA) und dem Low-Frequency Array (LOFAR), um mehr über die Morphologien und Beschleunigungsmechanismen von kosmischen Beschleunigern wie aktiven galaktischen Kernen zu erfahren.

Teilcheninteraktion & Propagation


Propagation

Ein genaues Verständnis der Interaktionsprozesse und eine performante Simulation der Teilchenpropagation sind notwendig, um/c1uph010/de/Projekte/c1uph010/de/Projekte signifikante Messungen durchzuführen. In Dortmund werden die Monte-Carlo-Simulationstools CORSIKA und PROPOSAL zur Simulation ausgedehnter Luftschauer aus kosmischer Strahlung und neutrino-induzierten geladenen Leptonen weiterentwickelt.

Methodenentwicklung


Invers

Für präzise physikalische Messungen ist die Entwicklung neuartiger Analysetechniken und -konzepte ebenso wichtig wie die Entwicklung neuer Detektionsmechanismen. Die Methodenentwicklung bei E5b konzentriert sich weitgehend auf maschinelles Lernen und Mustererkennung und geht über die Anwendung neuer Werkzeuge hinaus. Die Forschungsgebiete umfassen die Signal-Untergrund-Trennung mit maschinellen Lerntechniken, die Entwicklung von DNN-basierten Rekonstruktionsverfahren und die Lösung inverser Probleme.



Nebeninhalt

Kontakt

Lehrstuhl für
Experimentelle Physik Vb

Otto-Hahn-Str. 4a
44227 Dortmund
(Anfahrtsbeschreibung)

Tel.: (+49) 231 755-3539
Fax: (+49) 231 755-4547